On Conferences & Being an Introvert

Image

This week I’m doing something scary. I’m attending a conference specifically designed for writers and bloggers. I’m really excited about it, but I’m also a little nervous. See, if you don’t know me, you might not know that I am an introvert. Conferences kind of scare me and stress me out. For me, it’s that fear of being called on that still lives from my middle school math days. No, thanks.

I struggled to even write this blog, because, by linking it to the Influence Conference blog, that means people will know that I’m there. They might say hi. They might single me out. They might want to know more about me. They might want to develop a relationship. But, isn’t that also the point?

I want to meet people, I really do. It just is way WAY WAY outside my comfort zone.

What if they don’t like me? What if they don’t like my writing? What if they think my blog is silly?

What if. The truth is, everyone won’t like me. My writing will fall short. My blog is silly.

Despite all the stress involved in going to a conference, I am still excited, and I still want to meet new people and cultivate relationships that last. So, here I go!

2 things you will be sure to have packed in your bag. 

You think I’ve packed already? Silly! I still have days before I even start thinking about that! Two things I will pack in my bag, though:

  • pen & paper. Call me old school, but I still like to take notes, write and think the old-fashioned way. Pen and paper all the way.
  • cell phone charger. That being said, I love my smart phone and would be lost if it died.

2 things you are most looking forward to during the conference.

  • learning more about how to take my blog from something for me to something that can impact the world
  • girl time with Amy and time to just think in a whole new way.

Just a couple of days to go!

Love,

Emily

Whatcha Thinkin' About?

