Make a Difference Monday

make a difference monday

It’s here! The first Make a Difference Monday link up is going live today, and I couldn’t be more excited.

Still not sure what #MADMlinkup is? Here is how we are defining it:  Make A Difference Mondays is a weekly linkup designed to encourage and inspire us to live each day on purpose—making a meaningful difference in someone’s life in even the smallest of ways. Sounds awesome, right? Time to jump right in! For me, this weekly blog post is a great way to focus on the here and now and the what we’re doing today to change the world. I tend to be a dreamer, and, as an introvert, I tend to live in my own little world inside my head a lot. So, having a place and space to have to consciously make the decision to highlight ways to live on purpose that isn’t about me and my world is exciting.

I thought I would start out this linkup by talking about one of my favorite things in the world: Cards and mail. Real mail. I love getting cards and I love getting real mail via the mailbox. While our mailbox is usually just a repository for junk mail, coupons and checks for the mission partners I help, every now and then, I get real mail. A card from my mom. A random note from a friend. A “just saw this and couldn’t help but send it to you” something or other that brightens my day.Honestly, it’s one of the reasons I get so excited about my birthday – I love all the cards!!

In this world of text messages, instant messages, Facebook statuses and twitter updates that seem to take the place of deeper connection, something that takes a little more effort means a lot to both the recipient, and the sender. I love finding the perfect card to send to a friend having a rough week, or sending a note to my friends and family to tell them that I love them and that I’m thinking of them. Note: It probably comes to no surprise that my love language is gifts.

So, there it is. My first easy, no-frills way to make a difference in the life of someone you love this week. Find their real address. Sit down. Find good paper and a nice pen. Write them a note telling them how much they mean to you. Take the time to write well, think about what you want to say, and really think about it. Enjoy the act of writing and the process of sending the letter. Don’t tell that person that you’re doing it, just drop it in the mailbox and let it go out into the world.

One of my favorite ways to hone my letter-writing skills and brighten someones day is through The World Needs More Love Letters. Check them out and get involved in spreading some love in your community and to people who need to know that they matter!

signature

 

2 thoughts on “Make a Difference Monday

Whatcha Thinkin' About?

